Advisory Committee

The Pathways to Politics Program Advisory Committee consists of six members. The Committee meets on a monthly basis to provide strategic oversight and ensure the high quality of the program.

Cr Stephanie Amir

Stephanie Amir

Stephanie Amir is the Program Manager for the Pathways to Politics Program.  She has worked across all three levels of government in research, policy development, as secretariat for a Victorian parliamentary committee and advisor to Ellen Sandell MP.  She has also worked as a social policy consultant advising clients in the government and community sectors, and as a manager at the Foundation for Young Australians.  She has a Bachelor of Science (Honours), Bachelor of Arts and postgraduate specialist certificate in Social Inclusion, all from the University of Melbourne.  Outside the university she is on the Board of Directors at community radio station JOY 94.9 and is proud to be the youngest current Councillor at the City of Darebin.

Dr Andrea Carson

Dr Andrea Carson

Dr Andrea Carson, lecturer in Media and Politics, The University of Melbourne. Andrea Carson is also an honorary fellow at the University's Centre for Advancing Journalism. Her research interests include the relationship between news media and democracy, the role of investigative journalism, digital media and political communication. Andrea writes and commentates about Australian politics and is an academic advisor to Vote Compass (ABC) and Election Watch (The University of Melbourne). Her research examines voter behaviour, and electoral studies more broadly. Andrea has previously worked in both the media and political spheres. She was a news journalist at The Age and has worked as a reporter, producer and broadcaster in radio (ABC 774, 3RRR) television (7.30 Report) and online (The Age, ABC). She was the national media officer to Bill Shorten at the Australian Workers' Union. Before commencing her PhD, Andrea produced ABC 774's morning radio program with Jon Faine. She regularly contributes opinion pieces (and podcasts) to The Age, The Conversation, The Drum, New Matilda, Crikey, The Citizen and has a regular guest commentator role on ABC 774 and ABC TV 24 news breakfast. A recent highlight was broadcasting the 2016 Australian federal election results live with Jon Faine.

Dr Meredith Martin

Meredith Martin

Dr Meredith Martin is Associate Director Cultural Engagement in Chancellery at the University of Melbourne. Chancellery Engagement works with academic divisions to shape the University’s commitment to lead and influence public conversations and policy development. Meredith leads the University’s Cultural Impact strategy and sets the agenda for the University’s major cultural partnerships. Meredith was instrumental to the introduction of the discipline of media and communications at the University and has been Research Fellow on a number of applied research projects funded by the Australian Research Council. Meredith was a member of the inaugural team that established the Pathways to Politics for Women initiative.

Sarah Buckley

Sarah Buckley is Executive Officer of the Trawalla Foundation, a private philanthropic fund for Carol and Alan Schwartz and their children. The Foundation works with individuals and organisations that have a vision for the future of Australian society, and gender equity sits at the heart of this. Sarah brings over fourteen years’ experience in senior leadership roles in the business and not-for-profit sectors, particularly in social innovation and investment. Sarah has led the development of highly successful social impact businesses, such as PwC's Indigenous Consulting which is majority owned and staffed by Indigenous Australians. She was previously General Manager for early childhood collaboration Opportunity Child, and spent ten years at PwC Australia, including as a Consulting Director and National Corporate Responsibility Director. Sarah is passionate about enabling the next generation of responsible leaders, businesses and investors.

Carol Schwartz AM

Carol Schwartz

Carol Schwartz AM is one of Australia’s leading business identities. She has extensive experience in business, property, the arts, and community organisations and has been a director on a number of public companies and government boards.

Carol is Chair of the Trawalla Foundation, Chair of Our Community, Founding Chair of the Women’s Leadership Institute Australia, Chair of Creative Partnerships Australia and Convenor of the Property Male Champions of Change. Carol’s current directorships include the Reserve Bank of Australia, Stockland, Australian Chamber Orchestra, Trawalla Group, Qualitas Property Partners, and Scale Investors Ltd.

She is also a member of the Harvard Kennedy School’s Women’s Leadership Board, a member of the Council of Advisors at the United States Studies Centre, University of Sydney, an Executive in Residence at Melbourne Business School, a council member of the Australian Innovation Research Centre, University of Tasmania, a board member Centre for Advanced Journalism, University of Melbourne, a member of the Enterprise Melbourne Advisory Board, and a member the Advance Global Advisory Council.

Professor John Howe

Professor John Howe is Director of the University of Melbourne School of Government and was previously Co-Director of the Centre for Employment and Labour Relations Law at the Law School. John's research interests include labour market policy and regulation, regulatory theory, and corporate accountability. He has written extensively on the role of the state in regulating employment and labour markets, and on the intersection between state-based regulation and corporate governance. John is presently engaged in research concerning regulatory enforcement of minimum employment standards in Australia and the Asia-Pacific region. He is also researching how large business organisations engage in self-regulation of labour practices through internal policy and rule-making processes, and the interaction between these policies and employment laws.

John is Chair of the Steering Committee of the Labour Law Research Network, and is a member of the Organising Committee of the Regulating for Decent Work Network. He is an Editor of the Australian Journal of Labour Law. John is also a member of the Centre for Corporate Law and Securities Regulation.

Prior to commencing an academic career, John worked in private legal practice, and also as a researcher for public policy and advocacy organisations in Washington DC. John was Secretary of the Australian Labour Law Association between 2005 and 2009. He was Deputy Dean of the Law School from 2013-2016.